Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a total beginner and have inherited a tank with the following:

1 x True Parrot Cichlid (Hoplarchus Psittacus)
2 x Breeding Pair of Pearl Eartheater (Geophagus brasiliensis)
5 x Firemouth Cichlid (Thorichthys meeki)
1 x Red Tail Shark (Epalzeorhynchus bicolor)
1 x Bronze Cory Cat (Corydoras aeneus)
3 x Leopard Sailfin Pleco (Glyptoperichthys gibbiceps)

and the are all in:
240 Litre Tank
Fluvel 3 Plus Filter
Fluvel U4 Filter
EHEIM professionel 3 2073 Filter

I have had them for nearly 2 months now and have just been trying to keep them alive!!

Up until now I have been changing 50 Litres twice a week (Wednesday and Sunday) and they seem to have been doing OK.

Now I'm starting to worry about regular maintenance and looking after them long term. I have the following questions, and would really appreciate if anyone could help me out with them:

1. How often do I need to clean the gravel?
2. Do I need the 3 pumps running together (can I survive with just the Eheim or with the Ehiem and one Fluval)
3. I have been feeding them some frozen Mysis shrimp (once or twice a week) and flaked food everyday (they seem to eat whatever I sprinkle in - is there a more scientific quantity I can give them - I don't want to over or under feed them!)
4. How do I know when the filters etc need to be changed in the pumps
5. Is the quantity of water changes OK or can I do a smaller quantity (or less frequently)?
6. Is there any other house-keeping that is needed?

Thanks for any help!!

b

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
1. With tanks that had gravel, I would clean debris that was on top every water change but I only vaccumed the gravel once a month.

2. I've never used the fluval 3 or u4 filters. You could probably get away with just the Ehiem, but if it ain't broke don't fix it. If your water quality is good then I would leave it, but thats just my opinion.