Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I may be setting up a 24"x18"x18" very soon and I aspire to set-up a lusciously planted SA aquarium though have very little understanding about the best way to go about doing this successfully.

I am an experienced fish keeper, though my experience lies in a larger African set-up, as well as a smaller community tank, which is currently being used as a grow out tank for my Africans.

I have never had much success with plants and am up for the challenge, though I need some advice,

1 - This is to be done on a TIGHT budget! ( I'm a full-time student and enthused traveler which leaves little money for anything else! )

2 - I want it 'green', sweeping fields of grass type or dense forestation!

3 - Co2, how necessary is it in this size tank? It's awfully expensive to buy an injector and I suck at hands on diy.

4 - I want the tank to be Blue Ram friendly, this is the best fish imo, though have little experience with them. I had them in a community tank once and they seemed ok until I got rid of the set-up.

5 - What are best tank mates with Blue Rams, I really like, for a catfish, the Hypancistrus Zebra ( maybe not a good idea for a planted tank though ), along with the standard 'rummy nose' tetras.

I have a light for the tank already ( though what globe i'll need to put in it for plants, I do not know ) and am tossing up about what sort of filter would be best, internal, external, undergravel?

I guess that I really need advice on everything after all of that! lol. To inform you a bit, my tap water here in Melbourne has a fairly high ph varying between 6.6 and 7.

Any advice or tips would be great :thumb:

p.s. Any body from Melbourne with clues on where I might find some bargains on equipment or plants please pm me, thanks :D

·
Registered
1,757 Posts
Hi Joseph,

I found this article a really helpful starting place: