Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi im new to this site and keeping cichlids etc, i have at the moment a female demasoni holding for 3 days now i was gonna ask the same question as above but think ill now leave her to natures coarse. last month i had mt yellow lab holding and i stripped her at 19 days i kept the fry in a breeder tank within the main tank and the other fish some how ate them???? so this time *** bought a little 20 litre tank with sponge filter, heater and put some gravel from my main tank in there with a few little rocks for her so i hope to keep the fry this time.
im just wondering how long she will hold for with her being left to do it herself???
any feed back will be great as im new to this. :-?

·
Registered
1,111 Posts
Usually around 21 to 35 days is what is recorded. Really depends on your fish and how safe she feels it is for the fry I think. Some are early and some are late.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ill just keep my eye on her mate, how often should i do a little water change? i was gonna do it once a week, the tank is only 20 litre so if i just do 3 litre change would this be ok??
she is the only 1 in this little tank too.

·
Registered
1,111 Posts
Thats what i would do. As long as Nitrates dont get high that would be fine. But I would wait to put her in the little tank till about day 15 or so. Have heard that if separated for too long she may not be accepted back the rest of her tank mates since she will lose her "rank" in the tank. (If that makes sense) I have never pulled one right away so I cant speak from experience on that but rather what I was told.