Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to keeping Tropheus Duboisi Maswa, but after 7mths of research finally took the plunge. I could only get a group of 5, they are a bit tricky to get here in Perth. They have been doing great for 2mths, on a vege flake & crushed pea diet,but every other day the smallest one gets bailed up in the corner. He seems to bounce back, but should I add more to counteract the aggression on this little one or is it too late??? They are about 3.5cm/1.5 inches long. The problem is I only have a 3ft tank 146ltres.

·
Registered
1,106 Posts
Your 5 fish could very easily end up as 1 fish. Tropheus you need a decent number to spread the aggression. They also need a tank with a minimum length of 48". People have kept them in smaller tanks with success but you have to have a lot of fish in the colony to even have a chance of getting it to work.

If you can get more you should otherwise you could easily end up with a single duboisi. But there is no guarantee that even if you get more of them that they will survive in a 3 foot 38 gallon tank.

·
Registered
2,323 Posts
i would suspect the small one is a male, and unless allowed the luxury of a private suite for a few months, will likely die off. the advice to source more dubs is sound, but as you mentioned, not all of us have a marketable supply readily available. in the mean while, you must do your best to keep the ones you have alive, and that will require you to intervene and/or quaranteen. if left to their own, you will likely loose them all. tropheus are simply one of those fish species, that require increased husbandry efforts, until a hierarchy has been established and accepted.