Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to cichlids so I don't know if Aceis are jumpers or not. I have head my full load of fish for only 7 days. The Aceis were the last ones to come. There are 4 demasonis, 4 yellow labs and 4 (now 3) Aceis. My tank is a 36 inches, 46 gallon tank but they will be moved to a 75 gallons this summer.

I used to have a piece of thin wood to block the hole on my top but since I added an artificial plant, I didn't think I needed it because it was blocking more than 80% of the open space. Unfortunately this fish found a way and jumped. I found it this morning, completely dry. I have put the piece of wood back.

My nitrates were above 40 ppm yesterday, slowly building up from about 10-20 ppm over the last WC, a week ago. I did a 25% WC and vacuumed the substrate this morning, as I do every week.

Here are my questions :

- Are Aceis and cichlids in general avid jumpers or was the fish trying to get more oxygen because of nitrate build-up or not enough water movement ? (I have a Fluval 407 on the tank and there is a lot of water agitation, on top, but also at all levels of the tank).

- What is the best media to help keep nitrates in check ? (I know water changes, plants, feeding and bio-loads need to be taken into account but I'm looking for other ways on top of that).

- Should I add water movement and if so, with what ? (Power head, spray bar, other ?)

Thank you !

·
Super Moderator
40,501 Posts
All Africans are jumpers and more so when there is chasing (common with Malawi) because the fleeing fish does not realize he is going to propel himself out of the tank. The tank should be completely covered.

Change 50% of the water today and 50% tomorrow to get down to 10ppm. Thereafter change 50% weekly or even more than 50% if your nitrates are above 20ppm.