Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

This is my first time to these forums so I hope you all can help me out with a question that I have.

I have had an Electric Blue Ahli for several months now and I am noticing that his rear fins have become extremely spotted (The spots are mostly clear but sometime turn red in the light) and are starting to turn a shade of reddish brown. I don't know what is going on with them.

He seems fine in all other regards. He is about 4 inches long, a bit territorial and very active since I put him in a new tank.

His diet used to consist solely of Beef Heart as that is what my local pet store told me to feed him.

He used to live alone with a Rubber lip Pleco and three Cory catfish in a 20 gallon tank. I recently transfered him into a 55 gallon tank and put several more fish in with him, including: An electric yellow cichlid, a Jewel Cichlid, a Zebra Cichlid, a Trophus Cichlid, and a Blood Parrot South American Cichlid.

I know the South American is a little out of place in my african tank, but he is doing fine I believe.

So if any of you know if the color change in my Electric Blues fins is normal or something that I need to take care of please let me know.

·
Registered
321 Posts
A picture wouldnt be out of place for this kindof thing.

Now - is this a discoloration (all around bad looking color, mucky looking, etc.) or a normal color change?

If it is discoloration it could be a side effect from hormones that big box stores (I.E. Petsmart and Petco) use on their fish to make them more 'sellable'. If this is what it is the fish will return to normal eventually - just give it time.

The more likely thing (given that it is only the fins) is that it is a male coming into full color

I'm sure that is what it looks like, correct? If so you have a nice male. Those spots are for breeding purposes - they are called 'egg spots'.