Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was gifted a couple of "male" peacock cichlids, both about 5.5" in length. One is pictured, the other is a bright German Red. I'm still fairly new to Peacocks, only ever having experience with a couple of males. This new pair caused a big problem in my all male peacock/hap tank. They shared a cave and drove everyone else (2 male peacocks and 2 male haps) off to one side of their 75 gal. While researching this behavior, I noticed them over there doing the loop de loop in their cave. They wasted no time so I separated the more dull looking peacock into a 40 gal cycled quarantine tank. I'm assuming it's actually a female? It has been about a week now and the fish will not eat. Parameters haven't changed, the fish is active and healthy, it likes interaction it just doesn't want any food. It has opened it's mouth, I didn't see eggs or anything abnormal. My question to a more experienced keeper would be am I assuming correctly about the sex of this specimen? It looks more purple than brown. Secondly, if not holding.. is it possible that this fish is stressed about losing a mate? Just want to do what is best for this one. The German Red is still eating and has since allowed the others to have free roam of the entire tank. Thanks in advance for any advice or ideas.

Attachments

·
Registered
28 Posts
I mostly keep haps so I might not be the best person to answer here, but based on the peacocks I have had over the years it appears to be female. At that size it looks to have a rounded fin and not much color. With that said if the fish has now moved tanks multiple times since you got it I would not be shocked if it is not eating as it might still be adjusting. Do you have another variety of food that you can try in the meantime? If water parameters are good and no visual signs of infection I would just continue to monitor.

How long was it in the 75g?

How long has it been in the 40g?