Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
457 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in the process of setting up a 90 gallon Malawi Mbuna aquarium. I have an Eheim 2215 and an Aquaclear 110. I may use powerheads (Maxi-jet 900 or 1200 - should I?). I have a single 250W Jager Heater. I plan to use aragonite as a substrate and likely lace rock. My background is black.

Now that you know all the background info., I need advice on stocking.

Here is a list of several Mbuna that I would like to keep. I know that I won't be able to keep all of them together:

- C. afra
- L. fuelleborni
- L. trewavasae
- L. caeruleus
- L. sp. "Hongi"
- L. sp. "Perlmutt"
- M. auratus
- M. johannii & cyaneorhabdos
- M. callainos
- M. estherae
- M. greshakei
- M. lombardoi
- M. zebra
- P. sp. "Acei"
- P. sp. "Daktari"
- P. demasoni
- P. elongatus varieties
- P. flavus
- P. polit
- P. saulosi
- P. socolofi
- Tropheops sp.

Long list, I know, sorry. But looking at the fish above, are the majority highly aggressive or semi-aggressive?

Depending on whichever is the majority will help steer me in the direction I want to go.

Thanks so much!

·
Registered
457 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I don't really care much about breeding; I'm more interested in a colourful, active display.

Maybe I could include like one or two breeding groups?

I mainly want a blue species, a white species and an orange/yellow species. Stripes and ornamentation are nice too, and I'd like maybe 1 or 2 OB fish.

My top 5 favourites would probably have to be:

Mel. auratus
Met. zebra
Met. callainos
Mel. johannii
P. saulosi

Again, I won't really encourage breeding from my fish. I plan to get max 2 or 3 of each species, sometimes individuals. If a hybridizing pair forms, I'll make sure to break them up.

·
Registered
457 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Alright, I see now. If they need to kept in breeding groups of around 4, I'll do it.

I kind of figured that the auratus would be a no-go.