Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
457 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in the process of setting up a 90 gallon Malawi Mbuna aquarium. I have an Eheim 2215 and an Aquaclear 110. I may use powerheads (Maxi-jet 900 or 1200 - should I?). I have a single 250W Jager Heater. I plan to use aragonite as a substrate and likely lace rock. My background is black.

Now that you know all the background info., I need advice on stocking.

Here is a list of several Mbuna that I would like to keep. I know that I won't be able to keep all of them together:

- C. afra
- L. fuelleborni
- L. trewavasae
- L. caeruleus
- L. sp. "Hongi"
- L. sp. "Perlmutt"
- M. auratus
- M. johannii & cyaneorhabdos
- M. callainos
- M. estherae
- M. greshakei
- M. lombardoi
- M. zebra
- P. sp. "Acei"
- P. sp. "Daktari"
- P. demasoni
- P. elongatus varieties
- P. flavus
- P. polit
- P. saulosi
- P. socolofi
- Tropheops sp.

Long list, I know, sorry. But looking at the fish above, are the majority highly aggressive or semi-aggressive?

Depending on whichever is the majority will help steer me in the direction I want to go.

Thanks so much!

·
Super Moderator
40,499 Posts
You've got a mix of aggressiveness on that list, but don't feel you have to have all aggressive or all peaceful. Yellow labs are often the most peaceful, but can mix with almost anything.

Rank them in order of your favorites and choose like 5 species if you are going for breeding groups. More important is choosing species that will not crossbreed. A guideline (with lots of exceptions) is to choose only one species from each genus. This is not true for pseudotropheus. And the most common cross-breeding risk that is an exception to that rule is that labidochromis caeruleus crossbreed easily with metriaclima estherae.

Now that I've totally confused you, post your choices and the members will critique.

·
Registered
2,566 Posts
Looks like a potential cross-breeding nightmare (if you kept all those in one tank). :lol: