Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello
I am a newbie in the cichlid world and i need advice about stocking my 75 gallon aquarium.
For now i have 7kg of ceramic rings on the top head filter of the tank + filter floss , my powerhead moves about 1200 l/h and the jebo aquarium is 120cm L*46cm W* 50cm H , i am planing to get sand used in pool filtration (sio2 sand as stated on the 25kg bag " astralpool" brand,not sure about the thickness of the sand layer or if it's possible to use medium granulometry gravel !!!.
I am planning to use dark slates (ardoise in french language) to build caves and traditional terracotta triple tube like caves and medium size pots combined with 3 stones that reacts with acetic acid ,i suppose they wil raise the pH.
The fish must live happily and longer, also i'd like some advise on the decor and the substrate.
150w heater would be enough ? In winter the temperature in my house is around 18c-20c .
I uploaded some pics of some of the available species at very low prices here in casablanca (Morocco), more colourful and expensive species are offered in fancy stores that i will visit sooner .
Based on the pics what are the ones that i could use to stock + the perfect ratio males/females , i font plan to overstock the tank even if i have 7kg of biomedia, the fish must liver longer and happier.
Any suggestion is welcome ;)

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
40,709 Posts
Maybe there will be a better selection at the more expensive stores? It is worth extra $$ at purchase to get quality fish. There are several in those pictures that I would avoid and some that I can't tell what they are. Look for a vendor that will sell you the fish with a scientific name at minimum and with a collection point if possible.

Since you are a beginner I would stock 3 or 4 species with 1m:4f of each and choose small peaceful species like yellow labs.