Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK so I put together a list, keeping color in mind. Plan on attempting plenty of rocks for hiding spots, etc. Thinking Light colored substrate (light PFS), well lit, and a painted black background.

I am new to this and I am sure 1 or 2 of these will get an overwhelming "ohhh **** no!", :p so please school me. I have looked at the "cookie cutter" setups, just looking for a tad more divertsity than the standard yellow lab/acei setups.

As of right now I am not thinking breeding (but may down the road) so if I am risking cross breeding PLEASE tell me...

4 x Labidochromis Caeruleus (1M, 3F)
4 x Pseudotropheus Demasoni (1M, 3F)
4 x Pseudotropheus Acei (1M, 3F)
3 x Cynotilapia afra (Cobue) (1M, 2F)
3 x Metriaclima estherae (OB) (1M, 3F)
3 x Fire Fish / Dragon Blood / Sunburst Peacock

·
Registered
424 Posts
what will your filtration be? With enough filtration you may be able to get most of that list in there, but even then you will have to make some cuts and wont be keeping any babies.

·
Registered
291 Posts
"4 x Pseudotropheus Demasoni (1M, 3F)"

Conventional wisdom says at least 12 demasoni if you'e going to have them. I have never kept them, but increased numbers diffuses aggression.

"3 x Fire Fish / Dragon Blood / Sunburst Peacock"

If you;re going to keep the rambunctious mbuna that you have listed, I would scrap the peacocks. I have yellow labs and acei in my peacock tank, but they are the exception. They are easey going as mbuna go and provide somdither for my haps/peacocks. The mbuna you have listed would not mix well with peacocks generally speaking.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Any suggestions to replace the Demasoni's? Something colorful, maybe in the blue spectrum? possibly Melanochromis johannii, Metriaclima sp. "Msobo", or Pseudotropheus saulosi ?