Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings!
I just got my hands on a 55 and need to set it up. I'm thinking black gravel to show off color.
I was leaning toward the Prestige Assortment from www.bluegrasscichlids.com.
How many fish would be good? I would like lots of color and a peaceful coexistence among the inhabitants.
Do you folks recommend an assortment like this or should I pick and choose individual species.
Thanks in advance for your advice.\\ :fish:

·
Registered
211 Posts
I checked out the mixes like you mentioned but decided against it. I just got a 55 gallon and will be setting it up soon. I am new to cichlids but from everything I have read and heard most don't advise these mixes. Cichlids need to be kept in breeding groups or all male. In my 55 I am going to have 3 species:
Cynotilapa Afra Cobue-Qty 6
Lab. Species to be determind-Qty 6
Pseudo. Saulosi-Qty 6
I think a big problem with the mix could be quantities. You could end up with several species and if you go out and but the numbers/ratios you need you'll have more fish than a 55 can handle. I would personally just pick the 3 or so species that you like. I am new here. I am sure others with more experience will join in. Good luck and definitely check out the 55 gallon cookie cutter section. It helped me decide what I was going to stock.

·
Registered
18,306 Posts
I highly recommend NOT to go with the "assortment".

You'd fare much better with the tank if you picked 2 or 3 species that you really like and have breeding groups of them, or even an all male tank by selectively choosing the fish that you want.

If you go with an assortment or "grab bag" of fish, you may receive species that aren't even compatible with each other or your tank size for long term.

·
Registered
18,306 Posts