Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm new to cichlids and new to this forum, but I'm very excited to have this as a new hobby!

I have cycled a 45 gallong (3 ft long) tank with multible sized flower pots and a piece of drift wood to provide variable territories. I've read mixed opinions on serveral species compatability, so I figured I'd ask about my plan spefically...

I currently have one yellow lab. and two red empress peacocks. I am planning on adding another YL, along with an Ahli, a couple more peacocks and a Synodontis Multipunctata catfish. All Jouveniles (about an inch)...

Should this work compatability wise? Size of tank/fish wise? Could I add a few acei's to help with algae?

Thanks in advance for posting! :)

Z

·
Registered
31,206 Posts
Unfortunately a 3ft long tank is very limiting for Malawian cichilds.

The Red Empress, many peacocks and Scieanochromis fryeri (the proper name for fish people call ahli in err) all get too big, and often aggressive for a 3ft tank. Pseudotropheus elegans "acei" also get too big for this sized tank.

Yellow Labs work pretty well though, so perhaps a group of one male, and three females, along with a Peacock trio, such as Maulana bicolour would work though. A single Synodontis is likely to hide all the time, so might not add much to the aquarium.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Nevermind, I see you actually already suggested a different peacock. Let me try to upload a pic of mine... I'm not entirely sure they're Red Empresses, and neither was the store from which I bought them... Just my best guess!

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Cool. Thanks. My aquarium store will probably order what you suggested and swap with me. Yellow labs and Maulana bicolours it is :)

Did you have a catfish or bottom feeder suggestion that would work well with those?

·
Registered
31,206 Posts