Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a new 40 gallon that I could use.

For my other one, I made a lot of research here about what Africans could live in a 36", and it was very limited. As for the Lake Malawi and Victoria, some stocking were suggested, but the consensus was that it would not be in the fishes best interest. So I forgot about those. However, I did find some interesting stocking options in the Tanganyika Lake and I found one that I like a lot.

All this to say that, by browsing through the posts here in the CA-Cichlids section, I notice that a lot of people are talking about convicts in 20 gallons, Pairs of Rainbow Cichlids with some community fish and bunch of bottom dwellers, Jack Dempfreys, etc.

Are those post the exception, or an example of what shouln't be done, or are the Central American Cichlids leave us more option when it comes to stock a 40 gallon / 36" ?

That being said, I'm new to CA cichlids, and I'd be interested if you guys could give me some stocking suggestions for my new 40g breeder 36"

Thanks!

PS : I will also make a post in the SA Cichlid section, as I'm exploring both ideas.

·
Registered
2,111 Posts
The options for CA in a 3 ft. 40 gal. would be very limited. Amititlania nanolutea. Maybe a few/pair of rainbow cichlids (Herotilapia multispinosa) though they can get larger then many mbuna that are being considered as unsuitable for your 3 ft. tank.|