Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am totally new to the cichlid thing but when I saw these backgrounds being done here I had to try.

rough pattern

cut and laid out on backerboard

after rough shaping

final shaping

First coat of drylok

After second coat stood up and I turned the flash off so that the shadows could show.

I still have to colour it , but its a start.

·
Registered
2,583 Posts
It's a good start! (I like the bottom rock- second one from the right) What colors are you going to use?
Are you going to put a black backround in the back of the tank?

·
Registered
213 Posts
I agree the second from the right and the rock above it are excellent work.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks,
I ts painted now mostly browns with some tan and a hint of green. There will be a black background on the back of the tank but this back ground will sit 2 inches or so off the back wall and the openings will be small caves built into it.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Here are the "caves" with a coat of drylok

Siliconed in place , I forgot to take a picture but the inside of the cave is painted to match the front of the background.Here you can alos see the fittings for the outflows. Water will flow from the caves into the tank and return to the pump via the openings covered in mesh.

Mesh over the openings

I'll get some pics from the front once this has all cured.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Looks like a good start. I think i would have gone for a little bit more depth or detail in all of the rocks, like you did in the rock everyone is talking about, but it looks pretty good.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·