1x Electric Yellow Labidochromis
1x Red Zebra
1x Johanni
1x Male Kenyi
1x Female Kenyi
1x Jack Dempsey
1x Red Tailed Shark
1x Pleco

I know some of you will tell me that I shouldn't mix Jack Dempsey cichlids or Red Tailed Sharks with African Cichlids, but all of them get along. My pH is between 7.2 and 7.5, which is ideal for all species.

Now, for my question. I would like to know if I have room for 1 Ice Blue cichlid and 1 Auratus cichlid. If it is only possible for me to get one, which one would you recommend? I have only started keeping cichlids in the last two months, so I am by no means an expert. I have no problem with suggestions or friendly criticism; however, please no harsh comments.

Much thanks,

TF27

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
If your fish are juveniles or young, that is probably why they get along for now. Africans do best in ratios of 1m to 3-4f. That male Kenyi will be a beast. They are very aggressive. The female Kenyi will be harrassed to the point of death possibly. Although you can successfully keep Africans at a 7.5 PH it is not ideal. They prefer harder water and I keep mine at 8-8.2 PH or so. Also the size of your tank limits to the species you can keep. Mbuna do best in a tank of at least 55g. Longer is better. I personally would not add any more single Mbuna's to the tank and be prepared to remove injuried or troublesome fish.

·
Super Moderator
40,516 Posts
I have a 38G tank probably similar to the size of yours. Footprint of mine is 36" x 12" which is important for territorial cichlids like mbuna.

For the Rift Lake cichlids I'd try to get the pH up over 7.6...mine is 7.8.

I found it to be a great tank for a single species of dwarf mbuna, especially if they are peaceful like your yellow lab.

Demasoni are challenging but a dozen can work in a tank like that as well.