Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I’m looking at breaking down my current 65 gallon tank and creating a cichlid tank, either Central American or African. I have no experience with either so does anyone have any suggestions? I’m looking for colourful, and would prefer a few larger fish rather than lots of small ones. Tank footprint is 120 x 40 x 50cm

·
Premium Member
4,868 Posts
If you are trying to maximize the amount of Cichlids you can stock with as Central Americans? You could set up and stock with an all-male scheme that I like to call, 'THE THREE AMIGOS'! You may be able to fit in 4, smaller-sized males with that setup. But, if you're looking to bump up to the small-medium sized Cichlids level - then 3 will be the limit.
To inform, this will at least visually reflect the bachelor life for your Amigos, pretty much all of the way. Putting a single female into a group like this (of whatever CA species!) could definitely spell social trouble and ensuing drama for the Bros however.
NOTE: Tank interior decorations should consist of 'plenty', with empty Corona and Tequila bottles scattered around inside as optional. :D

·
Premium Member
4,868 Posts
Wow, you’re starting to get into this thing a bit. That’s good! So hopefully, we can give you some options to mull over that may actually ‘tweak your nugget’.
But first, let’s have a look-see at our somewhat surly friend, Trichromis salvini, the Mini-Guapote’ Cichlid,
- BAD Salvini: Salvini 114g
Whereas the inestimable Salvini, 'Captain Creech' attains his majority…
- Interesting (Sorta good) Salvini: Trichromis salvini
And here we can appreciate the more nuanced side of the picture. Multiple females? And with maturity, well-kept males turn a nice blue color!
-
And, here is a 'Three Amigos' stocking configuration you could try, that I believe would ‘go the distance’ for you. As follows: