Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just picked up a 150 gallon tank for 100 bucks!! No holes are drilled nor has an over flow. The guy selling it gave me a Little Giant 1300 GPH inline pump. But he didnt know anything about fish tanks this was just left in his house when he moved in. While out I also picked up a approx 20 Gallon plexiglass media filter box that is divided in half with a tray and bioballs underneath in one half the other half is just open Got that for 10 bucks from a landlord of a pet store that was no longer in business. But thats all I have for a filtration system. Im a carpenter and could make anything up! What would I need to do to make this work, are there any good DIY articles. Or pictures of setups so i can get some ideas? I dont want to drill my tank if possible.

Or is just worth the cash to go buy a large canister setup

I measured the sump box i got its approx 10"w x 23" L x 16" H - Is this to small for a 150G it has 2 inputs

·
Registered
162 Posts
Just picked up a 150 gallon tank for 100 bucks!!
:thumb: Congrats!!
You could either do a large canister filter like the Fluval FX5 or Eheim 2080. Or if you want to build a DIY sump I would recommend browsing thru the DIY section to get a better idea, there are several threads there of people that have built them.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·