Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
372 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just stripped 15 fry from two holding dems. It has been 17 days since they started holding.

Here is a pic of the fry:

And a pic of the fry tank:

The tank is divided because I have another holding female that is about a week behind on the right side. I didn't know if she would be able to suck the fry through the breeder box, so i divided it. Is this neccessary?

a couple questions:

1. I picked up some Hikari First Bites. 2-3 times a day seems to be what everyone does, but how long do I feed them this? Also how important is it to vaccuum out every bit of the left overs? This stuff is incredibly small!

2. How much and how often for water changes? I add a tablespoon of baking soda to my main tank during WC's because my KH is basically 0, do I also need to add some to the fry tank?

This is my first time raising fry, any advice or tips would be appreciated :D

·
Registered
5,315 Posts
bmweiler09 said:
Just stripped 15 fry from two holding dems. It has been 17 days since they started holding.
The tank is divided because I have another holding female that is about a week behind on the right side. I didn't know if she would be able to suck the fry through the breeder box, so i divided it. Is this neccessary?
Likely not, but I would probably do the same just in case.
a couple questions:

1. I picked up some Hikari First Bites. 2-3 times a day seems to be what everyone does, but how long do I feed them this?
Until they're large enough to fit the next size food in their mouths.

Also how important is it to vaccuum out every bit of the left overs? This stuff is incredibly small!
Not terribly, assuming you have sufficient filtration and bacteria to keep up with ammonia. Just get the majority. I use a few otocinclus for clean up duty.

2. How much and how often for water changes?
It varies, 25-50% weekly, many breeders will do daily 20%+ changes to encourage quicker growth.