Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I'm new to keeping cichlids and have a few questions. I have a 100 gallon tank 48"x18". I have it set up with sand, lots of rocks+cichlid caves, and some cichlid resistant plants(Java Fern + Anubis) and now I'm trying to decide which fish to put in it- I know I want Mbunas.
I am particularly interested in Maingano, Red OB Zebra, Yellow Lab, Textilis, Bumble Bee, and Giant Demasoni though I am open to others.

My questions are:
-How many cichlids should I have in this tank?
- Should I do something like one of each or should I do multiple of each species? If multiple, how many species and how many per species?
-if multiple, what do I do with the fry if/when they breed?
- Would these species be alright together? The research I've done so far suggests they would.
-Are there other species you would recommend?
- Are there any online sellers you would recommend? My local stores sadly do not have much variety.

Thank you!

·
Super Moderator
40,483 Posts
CoyoteSong said:
I am particularly interested in Maingano, Red OB Zebra, Yellow Lab, Textilis, Bumble Bee, and Giant Demasoni though I am open to others.
CoyoteSong said:
-How many cichlids should I have in this tank?
I recommend mixed gender as it is an easier tank with the aggressive mbuna.
CoyoteSong said:
- Should I do something like one of each or should I do multiple of each species? If multiple, how many species and how many per species?
Think in terms of 4 species with 1m:4f of each depending on the species.
CoyoteSong said:
-if multiple, what do I do with the fry if/when they breed?
Let the mom's spit the fry in the tank and get a group of 5 Synodontis multipunctatus.
CoyoteSong said:
- Would these species be alright together? The research I've done so far suggests they would.