Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to cichlids. I have a 45 gallon tank with 4 African Cichlids. They have been together for over a month now. One of the cichlids is constantly chased by the other three. I don't know why. I'm attaching pictures below. Maybe it's a type that shouldn't be in the tank? They were all purchased at a large fish store and I was told they were all compatible (as much as possible for cichlids). Do I need more fish in the tank to take the pressure of this one? Any advice would be appreciated.

Attached are pics of all 4 cichlids. The red/purple fish is the one being picked one.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
40,482 Posts
Welcome to Cichlid-forum!!

What are the dimensions of the 45G?

Often they are 36" x 12" and if that is true, only the bottom fish (Labidochromis caeruleus or yellow lab) will do well in the tank.

The top fish is an OB peacock...better not to mix them with mbuna.

The middle 2 fish appear to be Metriaclima lombardoi (kenyi) which are notoriously aggressive fish. If you want to keep them, you want a tank that is 75G and 48" by 18" or larger, and you want to keep one male (yellow barred fish) and seven or more females (blue barred fish.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply! Yes, it's a 36x12 tank. I was a little concerned that I wasn't given accurate info about what fish could live with other fish. I'm so glad to have found this board. This is the only tank I have at the moment and it may be a while before I can add a 75 gallon. So the blue bared fish is female? Very discouraging because the fish store told me I was purchasing all males. Sounds like I need to find a new home for the peacock.

·
Super Moderator
40,482 Posts
You will want to rehome the 2 kenyi as well. Trade them in for 4 more yellow labs...the 36" length severely limits the species that can live in the tank but 1m:4f yellow labs will work (with no more fish).