South American Cichlids • Bolivian Rams

Discussion regarding only South American Cichlid species. (Oscars, Geophagines, Discus, Apistogramma, Green Terrors, Angels, Severums, Pikes, etc.)

Moderators: notho2000, Iggy Newcastle

Bolivian Rams

Postby sian » Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:17 pm

Hi I'm new to keeping cichlids....And with lots of reading and googling we decided on Bolivian rams. Which we had two weeks ago, I bought three as where I bought them said better get three see who will pair up etc. Two paired up and bullied the third little, but the next day while I was at work I came home to find the third one dead.. :( . Now the other two thinking they had paired are now on opposite side of the tank to each other, and when they do see each other they circle each other and ram the tail and then lip lock.. I am now thinking they are actually the same sex.. If anyone has had the same experience, do you know if this is fighting or displaying/flirting?
A friend of mine is a an oscar breeder he said lip locking is a sign of a mating pair, But he's not sure about the circling part..

I have a 70gallon tank with-
2 Bolivian rams
3 Angels
3 corys
1 pleco
5 mollies..
so far.......Any ideas of what else I could put in my tank would be welcome!!
sian

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Postby DeadFishFloating » Sat Feb 05, 2011 9:51 am

lip locking can be a sign for a couple of different things.

Same sex lip locking occurs when two fish are fighting for dominance. Similar to two male rams butting heads. Unfortunately, often the losers becomes a victim and can waste away untill it dies or is continually harassed until it dies from stress. Other times the loser is relegated to a small corner of the tank.

Opposite sex lip locking can often lead to a pair bonding and spawning. It is believed to be a way for two fish to size each other up and decide if they are compatible, as in is the female strong enough for the male and vice verca.