Lake Malawi Species • Melanochromis auratus

Discussion regarding only Lake Malawi species.

Moderators: Chester B, DJRansome

Melanochromis auratus

Postby KJD66 » Wed Apr 21, 2021 10:40 am

Hi all,

Just stocked a new Mbuna tank. 4 species, 10 of each. One of the species is Melanochromis auratus. The breeder did tell me that they can be aggressive and they had a bad rep but this was mainly due to people keeping too few of them in a tank. He advised that if they were kept in a group of 10 or more with the right rock formation etc. then I should be OK.

I’m new to Mbuna and I have done a lot of research up to this point however I hadn’t appreciated quite how aggressive these guys are supposed to be. Now that I’ve read up on them I’m getting a bit concerned that at some point they are going to wipe out the rest of my tank. It’s day 3 and I’m already noticing they are starting to get a bit more aggressive.

The other species in the tank (10 of each) are:

Pseudotropheus acei
Labidochromis sp. hongi
Cynotilapia zebroides

Plus there are 5 Synodontis lucipinnis in there as well.

Do you think I should take action now or ride it out a bit longer to see if they settle down given that it’s so soon since I got them? All fish were added to the cycled tank at the same time.
Attachments
18F41A2D-4CEE-4E82-8A7F-DD4F95B628E8.jpeg
KJD66

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Melanochromis auratus

Postby Mr Chromedome » Wed Apr 21, 2021 11:25 am

I would certainly give it more time. Not much is settled territory wise after only three days. However, auratus should be watched, if they start to concentrate their aggressiveness on one or two fish, you may have to deal with it.
Happiness may be the door to Heaven, but Pleasure is not the Key. - attributed to Confucius
Mr Chromedome

Postby KJD66 » Wed Apr 21, 2021 12:00 pm

Yeah as you say it’s early days so I’ll keep my eye on them. Thanks for the reply.
KJD66