Lake Malawi Species • Some general questions from a newbie

Discussion regarding only Lake Malawi species.

Moderators: Chester B, DJRansome

Some general questions from a newbie

Postby NotoriousSpring » Tue Apr 06, 2021 1:20 pm

So I'm new to this, and I've got a few questions.

1: I'm currently building a 60 gallon, but it has a little more width than length due to the space I'm putting it in (36x20x20). Will this be ok for mbunas or is the length more important? If it's not just let me know and ignore the rest of these questions.

2: If it's all good, then what kind of mbunas should I put in it? I'm currently looking at Pseudotropheus saulosi, Pseudotropheus "acei," Labidochromis "Pearlmutt," and Iodotropheus sprengerae. (Do those have common names that would be easier to type out or do people usually just call them by their specific name?)

3: How often should they be fed? And what do ya'll usually feed them?

4: I haven't kept fish that really need the PH watched, I keep an eye on it and it usually seems fine. However, I know cichlids need a higher PH level than most fish. So how do you raise it and keep it balanced? When you do water changes does it shift dramatically or do you have something in the water that keeps it balanced? This question also applies to GH

5: For filtration I plan on using two Aquaclear 70s. Would I be better off trying another type of filter or should this work ok? I already have one so getting a second just seems the most cost efficient compared to a canister filter.

I think that's about it for now, but I'll be back when I inevitably have more questions
NotoriousSpring

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Some general questions from a newbie

Postby Fogelhund » Tue Apr 06, 2021 1:46 pm

1. Length is more important, but you could get away with doing a tank with just Chindongo saulosi. They changed the name from Pseudotropheus to Chindongo a couple of years ago, but it's hard to keep up.