Lake Malawi Species • 120 gallon - what would you do?

Discussion regarding only Lake Malawi species.

Moderators: Chester B, DJRansome

120 gallon - what would you do?

Postby Wills » Thu Mar 11, 2021 9:00 am

Hi I'm brand new to the African side but been keeping Americans for about 15 years. In the process of setting up a fish room and I want one of my feature 4x2x2 120 gallons to be an African tank. Initially I was interested in Tangs (still am) but think it might not be what I want right now. Really interested in an all male peacock and hap tank or a mixed peacock tank if people think this is better? I'd potentially like to add some Mbunas that have a reputation of being easy to keep such as Yellow Labs or Rustys?

I was wondering if people could give me some ideas of species to look out, how best to mix them so they dont fight too much and numbers. I've kept these questions purposefully vague as I am wanting to learn as much as possible and get a bit of variety of species to research and read up on. I know all the good shops and not afriad to travel or spend money on the right fish so should hopefully be able to track down some nice rarities if people suggest them too :)

Many thanks
Wills
Wills

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: 120 gallon - what would you do?

Postby DJRansome » Thu Mar 11, 2021 9:16 am

Did you read the all-male article in the Cichlid-forum Library?

I would not add rusties to a peacock tank. Some have had success with yellow labs and acei.

My only hint that is not in the article is to decide whether you want a tank with timid haps and peacocks or more assertive ones. If you mix them the timid haps and peacocks will have less of a chance to color up.

I think the article mentions that you will have to swap out fish over the first year or two so having a fish room with lots of spare tanks is ideal.
125G Borleyi, Multipunctata
75G Demasoni, Msobo, Lucipinnis
75G Calvus, Similis, Petricola
DJRansome