Lake Malawi Species • Stocking Mbuna Advice 47G Tank

Discussion regarding only Lake Malawi species.

Moderators: Chester B, DJRansome

Stocking Mbuna Advice 47G Tank

Postby Haplochromine guy » Mon Sep 21, 2020 1:16 pm

Can people tell me what the decision is right now for what Mbuna and how many gallons is 180 liters? I use the Imperial System (I think that's correct) of the U.S.
I have some experience with Africans and the more aggressive Mbunas in particular.
Haplochromine guy

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Stocking Mbuna Advice

Postby aconite » Mon Sep 21, 2020 1:40 pm

180 litres is about 47 US gallons.

Just to confuse matters, Imperial gallons are actually different, and 47 US gallons is about 39 Imperial gallons ;-)
aconite

Postby BC in SK » Mon Sep 21, 2020 1:56 pm

Haplochromine guy wrote: how many gallons is 180 liters?

1 U.S. gallon = 3.8 litres
1 Imperial or U.K. gallon = 4.5 litres.
So 180 litres would be 47 U.S. gallons or 40 Imperial gallons.
Haplochromine guy wrote: I use the Imperial System (I think that's correct) of the U.S.

Unlikely, living in the U.S.A., that you will ever encounter volumes that use the Imperial system. U.S.A. separated from Britain in 1776. Sizes got standardized after that, and that is why they ended up slightly different in the U.S. then Britain. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Imperial_unitsCountries part of the British empire, like Canada, became independent from Britain after sizes got standardized, so generally used the Imperial system. For example, in Canada, at the gas pump, gas was sold in imperial gallons (4.5 litres) That is, until about 30 some years ago, then it was made law that it must be sold in litres. But aquariums were an exception as they have always been labeled and sold in U.S. gallon sizes.