Lake Malawi Species • New 125 all male peacock and Haps tank with questions

Discussion regarding only Lake Malawi species.

Moderators: Chester B, DJRansome

New 125 all male peacock and Haps tank with questions

Postby eric1115 » Fri Mar 20, 2020 5:22 pm

Hi
I have been keeping Mbuna for several years but new to peacocks and Haps. I have a 125 72” setup with mostly peacocks and Haps with few Mbuna. Most of the fishes are around 2.5 to 3 and there are a few that are 4-5 inches. So far it has been ok, no fish hiding, everyone eats, there are chases but not damages that I can see. Wasn’t sure what I was thinking when I added all these fishes but I kind of want to go all male no. Not sure how I should be going at this point.

My tank is 125 72” with 50 gallon sump growing a lot of ponthos in it. Ammonia and nitrite 0 and nitrate usually 20ppm in every 3 -4 days. I do 50% water change every 3-4 days. PH is 7.6, I used to buff it with baking soda and Epsom salt to 8.2 but now just leave it at 7.6. Fish seems to be ok with it.

I am also currently fishless cycling a 100 gallon 4 footer. Plan is to use it to house fishes I pull out from the 125.

My current stock list. Sorry for not using all the scientific name. Also, the one I don’t mention as male, I am not sure if it’s male or juiced.

German Red - 5-5.5 inch male. Currently the tank boss
German Red - 3 inch male
Red Empress - 4 - 4.5 inch
Red Empress - 3 inch
Redfin Borleyi - 3.5 inch male
Dragonblood- male 3 inch
Albino Dragonblood - 3 inch
Taiwan Reef - 3 inch
Albino Taiwan Reef - 2.5
Red Shoulder Peacock - 3 inch male
Venustus - 3 inch
Venustus - 3.5 inch
Fusco Hap - 2.5
Fusco Hap 3 inch
5 Protomelas Spilonotus Mara Rock - 5 inch male, 4 other that are 3 inch
Sulfurhead Hap Hybrid? - 5 inch male
Neonblue peacock - 2 inch
Sulfurhead peacock - 2 inch male
2 Placidochromis Phenchilus Tanzania - 2.5 inch
Malawi Eye Biter - 3 inch
Yellow Lab - 4 inch
Yellow lab - 2 inch
White Lab - 2.5 inch