Lake Malawi Species • What to do with bully kenyis- established mixed species tank

Discussion regarding only Lake Malawi species.

Moderators: Chester B, DJRansome

What to do with bully kenyis- established mixed species tank

Postby moresnowplease » Thu Feb 27, 2020 7:00 pm

Cichlid beginner here- I got a free 55gal tank that came with fish an everything else included almost a year ago now. I am still learning about who gets along with whom and have at least figured out that the kenyi pair are by far the most aggressive fish in the tank.

At the moment, the male kenyi is in a 15gal tank by himself (i originally set it up to get another betta) and seems to be doing just fine, keeping his little rock cave all pebble and sand free and watching me at my desk at work. Now the female kenyi is harrassing everyone else in the tank, though her territory is slightly smaller than the empire that the male had built himself (3/4 of the tank). I'm trying to decide whether to remove the female into her own separate tank as well in hopes that everyone else will be fine. From what I understand, some of these fish are up to 8 years old and have been together most of that time (i'm the third owner in that time frame). Initially the tank also had 5 unknown species dark grey with yellowish tails haps and 6 convicts that i've since rehomed. I don't think the 15gal is anywhere near big enough for the pair to be together without them both tearing each other apart.

Still remaining stock:
One adult male Electric Blue Hap.
One adult male Jack Dempsey who is very mellow and often rather skittish- swims into his cave quickly for any visible-to-him fast movements.
One adult male jewel cichlid (was a bit low on color before the male kenyi got kicked out, but is now back to bright red and out and about often).
One adult female bristlenose pleco who holds her own pretty dang well.