Lake Malawi Species • Stocking around demasoni

Discussion regarding only Lake Malawi species.

Moderators: Chester B, DJRansome

Stocking around demasoni

Postby Ariolex » Sat Dec 14, 2019 9:55 am

Hi all

I am switching my 125g SA to Africans. I have no experience with African cichlids so I need some stocking advice.
Will the list below work?

Pseudotropheus demasoni - 20 to 24
Iodotropheus sprengerae - 4
Metriaclima estherae - 10
Labidochromis caeruleus 10

I have read that cross-breeding is always possible with Mbuna but that it is unlikely across different genus. I don't want hybridization, is the list good on that flank?
For that reason I eliminated Pseudotropheus acei from the list. Will they cross-breed with demasoni? And if they don't, can I add them to the mix?

Cheers
Ariolex

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Stocking around demasoni

Postby ken31cay » Sat Dec 14, 2019 10:32 am

Are those your starting numbers before whittling down to proper male/female ratios or is that the final number of fish? Since rocks take up so much space in an mbuna tank, even 23 mbuna in my 180gal seems somewhat crowded to me.

Sorry I can't advise on the other questions but I'm sure DJ will see your post hopefully soon and provide some good guidance.
450gal Frontosa (blue Zaire Moba) & haps
180gal school of Red Rainbowfish
ken31cay

Postby Ariolex » Sat Dec 14, 2019 10:50 am

Hi Ken, thanks for the reply!

I was thinking about final numbers. I could go down on the sprengerae and the caeruleus a to 5 fish (1:4), but there seems to be an agreement that 20+ demasoni is the way to go.
Ariolex

Postby DJRansome » Sat Dec 14, 2019 11:17 am

You want to end up with 20 demasoni but then go 1m:4f on the others.

With mixed gender in a 72" tank I shoot for 25 fish unless you are stocking demasoni.

Don't mix estherae and caeruleus as they hybridize...an exception to the rule that you are OK with fish of different genera and that don't look alike.