General African Cichlid Discussion • Um, Blotched Red Zebra Holding

For general questions and issues. Post here if you are unsure of their origin or if you have questions about mixing.

Moderators: DJRansome, nodima

Um, Blotched Red Zebra Holding

Postby CichliBAE » Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:26 pm

Awesome and exciting! I just found out my Blotched Red Zebra cichlid is holding eggs! I held her up, put a flashlight in and saw give or take 10 eggs and more from the seconds I looked. Now I don't know if they're fertilized or not, but her stomach is pretty shallow or noticeably and not plump. I am keeping her in one of those small cage/transport aquariums afloat in my cichlid tank. How do I know they're fertilized and how long will it take? This is my first time actually seeing a holding female!

Update on my 2nd finding of cichlid fry, it seems like they have 5 stripes, but they're more tannish than a Kenyi blue, and they seem to have yellow fins (but their bodies are tannish). Is it possible an acei mated with a kenyi?
CichliBAE

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Um, Blotched Red Zebra Holding

Postby CichliBAE » Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:43 pm

Hey I just checked again and I see 2 black dots on all the eggs! Fertilized they are! Any estimations on how old these eggs are and how much longer till I can strip her and feed the fry fry food?
CichliBAE

Postby DJRansome » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:21 pm

The fish hold an average of 28 days but it's hard to tell how old the eggs are if you don't notice day one when she stops eating. It's always good to check each fish daily when you feed them.
125G Borleyi, Multipunctata
75G Demasoni, Msobo, Lucipinnis
75G Calvus, Similis, Petricola
DJRansome
Global Moderator

Postby CichliBAE » Sat Jul 14, 2018 6:43 pm

Thank you! I have push her in a small breeding cage so that the babies are safe as soon as she spits them out. If I do strip her and there is some water movement, will the fry still live?
CichliBAE