Cichlid Fish Forum banner

Multiple Filters

1K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  Auballagh 
#1 ·
Wondering why so many find it necessary to run with two or more filters on their tanks. I've been running a single FX4 for over three years. It's running on a 72 gallon bow front. The water has always been perfectly clear and parameters right on. I do weekly water changes and clean the filter every 5 weeks. I keep spare parts in case of a break down. Such as a new pump and motor, impeller and o rings.

#3 ·
I've heard that aiming for a filter that does 8x - 10x the tank's water volume is ideal for good filtration. I achieve ~7.5x in my tanks which each have a sump + canister.

#4 ·
It's not necessarily about tank capacity. I have filters "designated" as 55-70 gal tank filters, on my 33gal tank. I still have two running. After you've been around long enough, you'll discover that filters do fail now and then - and when you only have one running, and it craps out for whatever reason, you'll wish you had a second on the tank so you don't have to try to track down a new filter in a panic. Every tank I run (except my betta tanks) always has two filters on it.

#5 ·
Sinister-Kisses said:
It's not necessarily about tank capacity. I have filters "designated" as 55-70 gal tank filters, on my 33gal tank. I still have two running. After you've been around long enough, you'll discover that filters do fail now and then - and when you only have one running, and it craps out for whatever reason, you'll wish you had a second on the tank so you don't have to try to track down a new filter in a panic. Every tank I run (except my betta tanks) always has two filters on it.
That's why I carry the necessary parts to repair my FX4. But I guess I'd still be screwed if it failed when we were away for a week or two!

#6 ·