Equipment & Supplies • Prime

For discussion regarding filters, lights, heaters, pumps, etc.

Moderators: Deeda, Kanorin

Re: Prime

Postby Bd79 » Mon Apr 01, 2019 8:26 pm

ken31cay wrote:I premix Safe in water then add that directly in tank before I start to fill. When you use Safe (or Prime) make sure and use enough for the entire tank volume not just for the amount of water you are putting back in, since it will also bind to ammonia in the old water and be used up.

Interesting. Why would there be ammonia in the old water?
Bd79
 
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 5:14 pm
Location: Washington DC

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Prime

Postby Sub-Mariner » Mon Apr 01, 2019 9:17 pm

Bd79 wrote:
ken31cay wrote:I premix Safe in water then add that directly in tank before I start to fill. When you use Safe (or Prime) make sure and use enough for the entire tank volume not just for the amount of water you are putting back in, since it will also bind to ammonia in the old water and be used up.

Interesting. Why would there be ammonia in the old water?
There is always ammonia, that's what fish expel and rotted food etc. create but the nitrogen cycle consumes it.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
-75g : All male Peacock / Hap / Mbuna tank
2262 w/ Hydor ETH200 / RKL controller

PREVIOUS TANKS
-55g : Mbuna tank
FX5 w/ Hydor ETH200

-125g : All male Peacock / Hap / Mbuna tank
FX5 w/ Hydor ETH300 / RKL controller
User avatar
Sub-Mariner
 
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:25 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Prime

Postby ken31cay » Mon Apr 01, 2019 9:43 pm

Bd79 wrote:
ken31cay wrote:I premix Safe in water then add that directly in tank before I start to fill. When you use Safe (or Prime) make sure and use enough for the entire tank volume not just for the amount of water you are putting back in, since it will also bind to ammonia in the old water and be used up.

Interesting. Why would there be ammonia in the old water?


I find that Safe/Prime also comes in handy in the case where you need to hold you fish in a temporary container for a few hours, like say you're moving your tank to a different spot. Put in a nice dose and you don't have to worry about ammonia building up during that time.
450gal Frontosa (blue Zaire Moba) & haps
180gal Trewavasae Chilumba & Kenyi
ken31cay
 
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 12:19 pm
Location: Cayman Islands

Re: Prime

Postby Bobsled » Tue Apr 02, 2019 10:35 am

ken31cay wrote:I premix Safe in water then add that directly in tank before I start to fill. When you use Safe (or Prime) make sure and use enough for the entire tank volume not just for the amount of water you are putting back in, since it will also bind to ammonia in the old water and be used up.


I use this technique as well.

All good information here. :thumb:
User avatar
Bobsled
 
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 1:23 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Prime

Postby Bd79 » Tue Apr 02, 2019 2:42 pm

Sub-Mariner wrote:
Bd79 wrote:
ken31cay wrote:I premix Safe in water then add that directly in tank before I start to fill. When you use Safe (or Prime) make sure and use enough for the entire tank volume not just for the amount of water you are putting back in, since it will also bind to ammonia in the old water and be used up.

Interesting. Why would there be ammonia in the old water?
There is always ammonia, that's what fish expel and rotted food etc. create but the nitrogen cycle consumes it.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

Right. But if the ammonia is consumed by microbes in the nitrogen cycle, there isn't much there for the Safe to interact with.
Bd79
 
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 5:14 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: Prime

Postby ken31cay » Tue Apr 02, 2019 6:30 pm

Right. But if the ammonia is consumed by microbes in the nitrogen cycle, there isn't much there for the Safe to interact with.


But assuming you turn your filter off during the water change process then you would have ammonia building up as the fish will continue to excrete it. Since the majority of that nitrogen cycle occurs when the water passes through your filter.
450gal Frontosa (blue Zaire Moba) & haps
180gal Trewavasae Chilumba & Kenyi
ken31cay
 
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 12:19 pm
Location: Cayman Islands

Re: Prime

Postby Bd79 » Wed Apr 03, 2019 4:01 pm

At the risk of belaboring the point, yes, but how long does it take to change water and how much ammonia is created during that window?
Bd79
 
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 5:14 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: Prime

Postby Methodical2 » Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:21 am

Sounds like a future test for someone.
Methodical2
 
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:53 pm
Location: United States

Re: Prime

Postby BlueSunshine » Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:16 pm

ken31cay wrote:
Right. But if the ammonia is consumed by microbes in the nitrogen cycle, there isn't much there for the Safe to interact with.


But assuming you turn your filter off during the water change process then you would have ammonia building up as the fish will continue to excrete it. Since the majority of that nitrogen cycle occurs when the water passes through your filter.


I could see this if one is running a bare bottom tank. Other than that...not a very true statement as far as I am concerned.

But....... If there is a fair amount of substrate in the tank, the nitrogen cycle should still be complete inside the tank. We only use our filters for mechanical filtration. When cleaning, I blast everything clean with a water hose and have had no problems for many years.

To the point of the original post. We've been using safe for a few years now with no problems. I add it straight to the tank during water changes, from 10 gal. tanks to 150 gal. tanks.
:) :)
BlueSunshine
 
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:22 pm
Location: USA

Re: Prime

Postby ken31cay » Tue Apr 09, 2019 11:59 pm

Bd79 wrote:At the risk of belaboring the point, yes, but how long does it take to change water and how much ammonia is created during that window?


I can't answer both questions. But doing my normal 70% water change maintenance in my 450gal takes 2.5 hours, sometimes longer depending on level of cleaning I do. I suppose with a smaller tank you might get away with only using the dose of Safe/Prime for the water you are replacing but it won't hurt to dose the entire tank volume. That is the recommendation strait from Seachem's dosage instructions. I wouldn't risk it personally.
450gal Frontosa (blue Zaire Moba) & haps
180gal Trewavasae Chilumba & Kenyi
ken31cay
 
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 12:19 pm
Location: Cayman Islands

Previous

Return to Equipment & Supplies

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests