Equipment & Supplies • Aquaclear 110

For discussion regarding filters, lights, heaters, pumps, etc.

Moderators: Deeda, Kanorin

Aquaclear 110

Postby Mece1966 » Wed Jan 31, 2018 11:17 pm

What is the biggest size tank I can get with 2 aquaclear 110's
Mece1966
 
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 3:12 pm
Location: New York city

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Aquaclear 110

Postby DutchAJ » Thu Feb 01, 2018 4:57 am

Two AC110s would turn over a 150g tank almost 7x/hr
75 G- Saulosi (Taiwanee), Yellow Tail Acei (Luwala), & Rusties
DutchAJ
 
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 8:05 pm
Location: Utica, NY

Re: Aquaclear 110

Postby Mece1966 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 11:21 am

Thank you
Mece1966
 
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 3:12 pm
Location: New York city

Re: Aquaclear 110

Postby Oscar6 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 6:01 pm

You have to consider tank stock, as well as the fact that any given filter can have an actual flow rate as much as 40% less than its rating. Media, some degree of dirt/debris in the sponge all reduce actual flow. I have a couple dozen AC 110's on various tanks. Been using them many years. Powerful and very reliable. Even empty and free flowing, there is no way they put out 500gph. 300-350 is more reasonable. With a single medium sized cichlid of 8-10ins I have run a pair on a 120g successfully for a long time. Any bigger of tank, any more bioload and I would recommend a canister to run in tandem with the AC's
1500 gallons of South and Central American cichlids. Some with a "wee" bit of attitude.
Oscar6
 
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 7:07 pm
Location: Ontario

Re: Aquaclear 110

Postby BlueSunshine » Thu Feb 01, 2018 9:15 pm

A 30 gal. tank is about as much as I've found a single ac110 good for. The best use we get out of an ac110 is on 20 longs. The ratings on filters a very exaggerated.
BlueSunshine
 
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 4:22 pm
Location: USA

Re: Aquaclear 110

Postby punman » Sun Feb 04, 2018 1:06 pm

I run two AC110s on a 135 gallon tank with five adult frontosas. Only other thing I do is run a Koralia pump for five minutes twice a week due to a "dead spot" in the tank. This just moves the debris around for easier pick up. If I had more fish I'd add a third AClear.

Two AC 110s I'd say would be best for a 90-110 gallon but it depends upon the messiness of fish, feeding, quantity of fish and so on.
Tanganyika Cichlids all the Way!
135 Gallon: Ten Frontosa mpimbwe f1
Fish tanks - betcha can't have just one!
User avatar
punman
 
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 4:59 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Aquaclear 110

Postby clubtc05 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:02 pm

punman wrote:I run two AC110s on a 135 gallon tank with five adult frontosas. Only other thing I do is run a Koralia pump for five minutes twice a week due to a "dead spot" in the tank. This just moves the debris around for easier pick up. If I had more fish I'd add a third AClear.

Two AC 110s I'd say would be best for a 90-110 gallon but it depends upon the messiness of fish, feeding, quantity of fish and so on.


Random question, I am still new and was wondering why didn't you run a canister filter on your 135? I bought a 110 for my 38G and returned it and bought a canister filter instead and it has been running great but now I am second guessing it because of the GPH 500 vs the 265 on my canister, the AC sucked up the #%$& up quick!
clubtc05
 
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:17 pm
Location: TX

Re: Aquaclear 110

Postby punman » Mon Feb 05, 2018 12:03 am

To be honest, I have had a couple of Eheim classic canisters in my time. I found the priming a bit problematic and spray bars would move around and not stay put. Once I had tube come out of the canister and I had a mess. Maybe these things were my errors, I don't know. They were quiet and did their job but I went back to just AClears for my peace of mind and ease of servicing.
Tanganyika Cichlids all the Way!
135 Gallon: Ten Frontosa mpimbwe f1
Fish tanks - betcha can't have just one!
User avatar
punman
 
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 4:59 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Aquaclear 110

Postby clubtc05 » Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:33 pm

I always have a fear of the tube coming out and it will happen while I am at work. The AC110 was just a little to noisy and I think I was packing it with to much stuff and after a few days it will over flow and the water would bypass the filter. But I think I will get a 110 in the future again.
clubtc05
 
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 11:17 pm
Location: TX

Re: Aquaclear 110

Postby punman » Tue Feb 06, 2018 12:12 am

ACs will be noisier. They all have their pluses and minuses. I keep my tanks pretty full to the top to the filters run quitter (less splashing). I run with just one layer of sponges, sometimes two. I notice some bypass if the filters are not rinsed often enough so stay on top of that.
Tanganyika Cichlids all the Way!
135 Gallon: Ten Frontosa mpimbwe f1
Fish tanks - betcha can't have just one!
User avatar
punman
 
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 4:59 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta


Return to Equipment & Supplies

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests