South American Cichlids • Aggression too much or normal?

Discussion regarding only South American Cichlid species. (Oscars, Geophagines, Discus, Apistogramma, Green Terrors, Angels, Severums, Pikes, etc.)

Moderators: notho2000, Iggy Newcastle

Aggression too much or normal?

Postby Teacher5 » Sat Feb 16, 2019 5:14 pm

Hi, I am relatively new to cichlids, but not aquariums. I have a well-established 55g tank that had a dwindled down population over a few years. About a month ago, I added 2 new fish: 1 firemouth cichlid and 1 Spotted Leaf Fish. They were doing great with the other remaining inhabitants (3 South American catfish and 2 albino bristlenose plecos) Then last week, I got 2 Bolivian rams. (I was thinking of getting another firemouth, but the store was sold out. After discussion with the employee, I picked a pair of Bolivian rams that may be a male/female pair (they swim together and have different shaped foreheads)
Anyway, after a week, I can’t tell if there is too much agression between the firemouth and the rams. He chases them around when they are fed, but I don’t see any nipping. In between feedings, the rams hang out near the top, at the back, but do not appear overly stressed. I have seen them eating.
Is that normal agressiveness for South American cichlids, or too much? I can still return the rams for 7 more days if needed.
Teacher5

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Aggression too much or normal?

Postby BC in SK » Sun Feb 17, 2019 8:13 am

Firemouth is generally too aggressive of a fish to be kept with rams. Makes for poor tank mates. Firemouths are Central American cichlids; not from South America. In general, the Central American cichlids tend to be quite a bit more aggressive then most SA cichlids. It's also sometimes tricky to introduce new cichlids, as the established fish views the new comers as a trespasser and a potential threat.