South American Cichlids • Severum keepers?

Discussion regarding only South American Cichlid species. (Oscars, Geophagines, Discus, Apistogramma, Green Terrors, Angels, Severums, Pikes, etc.)

Moderators: notho2000, Iggy Newcastle

Severum keepers?

Postby Steve C » Mon Oct 02, 2017 7:18 pm

Anyone here keep severums? Have some questions about them because I'm thinking of getting some for my next tank. If anyone keeps them just let me know and I'll post up all my questions ;)
120g Bichir
75g Oscar
Koi pond
20g Bichir grow out
Steve C

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Severum keepers?

Postby JRW81 » Tue Oct 03, 2017 1:25 pm

I have been keeping severums for a couple of years. I’ll be glad to answer whatever questions I can
JRW81

Postby Vociferus » Tue Oct 03, 2017 5:03 pm

I've got a couple of Green Severums, just over a year old. Fire away!
Vociferus

Postby nodima » Wed Oct 04, 2017 6:45 am

I've got a couple, though I'd not consider myself a "Severum Keeper" :D
180 gal - Tanganyikan community tank: Tropheus Bemba, Synodontis Petricola, Compressiceps

125gal - South American community: Geophagus, Acara, Angels, Severum, Festivum

75gal - Planted SA tank
nodima

Postby mambee » Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:22 pm

I had a couple of turquoise severums for a few years, They were pretty mellow, except that they would try to taste any new fish that I added to the tank, especially BNPs. I rehomed them when I wanted to add live plants.

I had a beautiful red severum which I purchased as a juvenile who was homicidal. It would always attack the eyes and killed an adult geophagus and maimed another one. He was also rehomed.
150 Gallon:
Geophagus, Angelfish
90 Gallon:
Bolivian Rams, Rummynoses, Corys, Dwarf Loaches, Neons, Glass Catfish
mambee

Postby thornsja19 » Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:43 pm