South American Cichlids • Festae stocking and mates

Discussion regarding only South American Cichlid species. (Oscars, Geophagines, Discus, Apistogramma, Green Terrors, Angels, Severums, Pikes, etc.)

Moderators: notho2000, Iggy Newcastle

Festae stocking and mates

Postby livinginteriors » Tue Mar 21, 2017 6:57 pm

I am a long time hobbyist, but in saltwater(400 gallon reef tank...), freshwater planted tanks and a bit of Africans(bred a bunch, including with petricola and mulit's). Love the Festae. Have 4, 2-3" growing out in a 40 Breeder. Have had them a month, they have sorted out a pecking order and get along quite well. I will be keeping them in a 7x2x2' roughly 200 gallon tank. The tank will be planted and scaped with lots of hiding places... and still open swimming space. I realize the 4 festae may not continue to get along. I want to add others to the system as target/dithers to help. I like the true parrot cichlid and am thinking 4 of the same size as the festae, a sailfin pleco, a syno. decorus and 10 giant danios. I am not trying to breed and will probably remove the eggs/fry as I can if anything spawns.
I would like advice regarding this plan. I have the ability to quickly remove threatened or overly aggressive fish to other tanks.
Thank you very much! Jim
livinginteriors

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Festae stocking and mates

Postby Mr Chromedome » Wed Mar 22, 2017 11:54 am

The first thing you can do is forget about any planting with festae. They will most assuredly rip it to shreds when they mature, if not sooner. Hoplarchus psittacus is probably not a good choice as tankmates, as they come from black water environments and are not as aggressive. The Pleco will likely do fine, but not sure about a Syno. I have no experience with using Giant Danios as dithers or target fish, so I will leave that to others.