South American Cichlids • Green Terror: Male or Female? :[

Discussion regarding only South American Cichlid species. (Oscars, Geophagines, Discus, Apistogramma, Green Terrors, Angels, Severums, Pikes, etc.)

Moderators: notho2000, Iggy Newcastle

Green Terror: Male or Female? :[

Postby Jameskim827 » Mon Mar 04, 2013 7:01 pm

Hey guys, my name is James. I am new to fish keeping. I have decided to purchase a green terror, parrot cichlid, and a pleco for my first fishies. At the moment I have a 30 gallon fish tank . I am very curious about my GT's sex. I took some pictures to show you guys. My GT's name is Rona :3 He/she is currently 2 inches long. If anybody can give this beginner some advice, that would be GRAND! thanks!

Jameskim827

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Green Terror: Male or Female? :[

Postby Tejay » Mon Mar 04, 2013 7:40 pm

Female, the dorsal fin is short and I think you can see her breading tube as well.
Tejay

Postby cichlidaholic » Mon Mar 04, 2013 7:41 pm

It's difficult to say (for me) at that size, but if I had to guess, just from the finnage and early color, I would guess male.

The best advice I can give you is to get a bigger tank! They don't call them green 'terrors' for nothing! And the parrot fish doesn't have much in the way of defense, and it won't take the gt long to start showing out in a 30G tank.

Definitely don't add anymore fish until you have a larger tank!
110G - Perspicax Red Top Ndumbi, Demasoni, Yellow labs, Metriaclima Callainos

Check out the blog on the home page if you haven't already!!!
cichlidaholic

Postby Jameskim827 » Mon Mar 04, 2013 7:54 pm

Yeah I have been reading a lot and noticed the GTs require a bigger tank. I will save up more money try to upgrade to a 55 in the following month. Thank you. Well, from the mixed opinions, I am guessing time is my best bet. I will wait longer and try to take more pictures as Rona gets bigger.
Jameskim827