General Aquaria Discussion • Best Ways to Protect yourself Buying Off Craigslist?

For general fish and aquarium topics. Including catfish, aquatic plants, ponds, photography, etc.

Moderators: DJRansome, fmueller

Best Ways to Protect yourself Buying Off Craigslist?

Postby randomname » Tue Sep 29, 2015 10:36 pm

This weekend I am looking to buy a tank off craigslist which I've never done before what are a few things to watch out for to prevent being scammed and things like that.

The only way I can get the tank to my house is to have them deliver it which i am willing to pay them 50 dollars for (20 miles away). I really don't like the idea of having them come to my house it just doesn't seem safe but it is the only option. I feel like this is just me being paranoid though the only reason I am even allowing it to happen is because my girlfriend convinced me that a thug wouldn't own a fish tank let alone a 125 gallon one.

Now that my dumb worry is out the way, what kind of things should I be looking for tank wise? What is the best way to check the silicon? If the tank is scratched are there ways to remove them? is there anything else to look out for other than cracked braces and what not?
randomname

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Best Ways to Protect yourself Buying Off Craigslist?

Postby Samadhikash » Wed Sep 30, 2015 12:26 am

Honestly, make the time to go and see the tank before they deliver it. I would not have someone off craigslist deliver a tank to my house sight unseen. That's just setting yourself up for more stress than anyone should have to deal with. Especially when there is a delivery fee involved. So go see it first. Seriously. If neither you nor the seller can make the time for you to see the tank before delivery then the deal goes in the dumper.