General Aquaria Discussion • Water change/ buffer question

For general fish and aquarium topics. Including catfish, aquatic plants, ponds, photography, etc.

Moderators: DJRansome, fmueller

Water change/ buffer question

Postby Cich-ness » Sun Apr 19, 2015 10:22 am

Hi Everyone, I have been keeping Malawi and tanganyikan cichlids for about ten years now, and I've always used a buffer consisting of baking soda, Epsom salts and a small amount of kosher salt. I've always mixed the buffer in bins prior to adding to the tank because I am worried about swings in the chemistry by adding water directly to the tank and adding the buffer to the tank as well. Of course this adds a significant amount of time to each water change, as I do this process for all of them. Any input on whether this is overkill or if I am doing the right thing by being cautious. Thanks in advance.
Cich-ness

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Water change/ buffer question

Postby DJRansome » Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:39 am

What is your pH and KH from the tap?
125G Borleyi, Multipunctata
75G Demasoni, Msobo, Lucipinnis
75G Calvus, Similis, Petricola
DJRansome
Global Moderator

Postby Cich-ness » Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:43 am

7.6 and only 3 drops kh.
Cich-ness

Postby Cich-ness » Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:56 am

My question is more about if there is a need to buffer the water to change separately or if it's safe to add the water directly to the tank and add the buffer to the tank as well, instead of premixing the buffer and water before adding.
Cich-ness

Postby Cich-ness » Sun Apr 19, 2015 11:59 am

It buffers to 8.2 max, due to the buffering capacity of the baking soda, I stay away from the seachem buffers because they use soda ash to raise pH further and it's not as stable.
Cich-ness

Postby GTZ » Sun Apr 19, 2015 1:41 pm