General Aquaria Discussion • How do you de-chlorinate your water during changes?

For general fish and aquarium topics. Including catfish, aquatic plants, ponds, photography, etc.

Moderators: DJRansome, fmueller

How do you de-chlorinate your water during changes?

Poll ended at Sat Aug 25, 2007 11:42 am

Add de-chlorinator to tank before adding new tap water
18
53%
Add de-chlorinator to tank after adding new tap water
3
9%
Add de-chlorinator to tap water in a bucket, then add de-chlorinated water to tank
13
38%
 
Total votes : 34

Postby bigfishferd » Thu Aug 23, 2007 7:15 pm

You adjust the temp from the faucet, I get mine within a degree or two of the tank water. Its very easy and I've been doing it in this manner for many years.

______________
Image
John
180g-F.rostratus 1m, B.nototaenia 1m, P.phenochilus 1m,P.spilonotus(Tanz.)1m, O.lithobates 1m, P.milomo 1m, N.fuscotaeniatus 1m, P.taeniolatus 1m, D.strigatus 1m, C.borleyi 1m, A.baenschi 1m
75g-FH
55g-growout
40g-growout
bigfishferd
 
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 8:02 pm
Location: Long Island, N.Y.

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Postby CSchmidt » Fri Aug 24, 2007 12:47 am

Hello everyone,

Why should it matter as long as the water is room temperature and put the water conditioner in it will not make a difference. I have been doing this way for years. I add the water conditioner before adding water.

Have you been having problems with adding water conditioners to your tank? Does it make a difference when you add it? Where are you from? Just asking it might make a difference with water quality.

Thanks for your time.
Chris.
User avatar
CSchmidt
 
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 12:11 pm
Location: Arizona

Postby nick a » Fri Aug 24, 2007 10:51 am

Same as most--i use the cloram-x powder and just sprinkle it into the stream of tap water coming in on most tanks-use a bucket and pre-treat for a few sensitive and fry tanks. Tap water directly out of the 'cold' tap only is fine during the summer in TX :lol:. But in the winter I adjust temp at the faucet.
nick a
 
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 6:16 pm
Location: leander.texas

Postby chapman76 » Fri Aug 24, 2007 12:04 pm

I use a python, but I also use Chloram-X (powder) so I have to mix it first. I mixed that up and dump it into the tank before adding the water. Done. Pretty easy. Add for the whole tank volume, not just what you're changing out.
chapman76
 
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Postby Cich of it all » Fri Aug 24, 2007 12:13 pm

chapman76 wrote:Add for the whole tank volume, not just what you're changing out.

Really? That's the first time I've heard of that. Does anyone else do this? I wouldn't want to overdose the stuff and have it be harmful to the fish.
Buy a Monster Fish Rescue T-shirt!:http://monsterfishrescue.com/cart/
User avatar
Cich of it all
 
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 1:00 pm
Location: West Bend, Wisconsin

Postby chapman76 » Fri Aug 24, 2007 12:54 pm

Cich of it all wrote:
chapman76 wrote:Add for the whole tank volume, not just what you're changing out.

Really? That's the first time I've heard of that. Does anyone else do this? I wouldn't want to overdose the stuff and have it be harmful to the fish.


It says to do it right on the instructions for the python to do this. If you adding the dechlor to the tank directly, always treat for the whole tank. If you're adding it to the buckets, just treat for that amount. Everyone I know who keeps fish does it this way.

That being said, if your chrlorine levels are low enough, you can do a 1/2 dose of the treatment, but that also means you know your PPM of chlorine in your water and most people don't.
chapman76
 
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Postby Cich of it all » Fri Aug 24, 2007 12:59 pm

Wow, you learn something new every day. I've been just using the amount required for the water I add and have had no noticeable problems, but I'll start doing it that way from now on. Always better safe than sorry. Thanks for bringing it up!
Buy a Monster Fish Rescue T-shirt!:http://monsterfishrescue.com/cart/
User avatar
Cich of it all
 
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 1:00 pm
Location: West Bend, Wisconsin

Postby nick a » Fri Aug 24, 2007 3:03 pm

If you adding the dechlor to the tank directly, always treat for the whole tank. If you're adding it to the buckets, just treat for that amount


Ditto here as a good general rule!

I don't refill with a python --I've got a separate hose I use for filling & sprinkling the powder directly into the outflow from it's nozzle works fine.

Image
nick a
 
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 6:16 pm
Location: leander.texas

Postby LORDAQUATIC1 » Sat Aug 25, 2007 2:07 pm

nick a wrote:Tap water directly out of the 'cold' tap only is fine during the summer in TX :lol:. But in the winter I adjust temp at the faucet.


same in florida. i treat the whole tank after.
goldfish live on average 15 years in the wild, and less than 5 in captivity.
LORDAQUATIC1
 
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:44 am

Postby 57chevygirl57 » Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:27 am

None of the above,
I have a cold sterile unit,
I don't add anything,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
or remove anything
125g Frons tank, 185g Reef tank, 125g Reef tank,54g Reef tank.
Obsessive? YES!!!!!!!:)
57chevygirl57
 
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 1:15 pm

Postby AU Chief » Mon Aug 27, 2007 12:09 pm

It occurrs to me that someone, somewhere has surely created some sort of attatchment for their python that releases a little bit of dechlorinator at a time into the stream of water. If they haven't they should. This would seem to be the best method.

I personally use the bucket method as I have no python. That's the next item on my supply list though.
AU Chief
 
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:11 am
Location: Auburn, AL

Postby BlackShark11k » Tue Aug 28, 2007 1:10 pm

AU Convicts wrote:It occurrs to me that someone, somewhere has surely created some sort of attatchment for their python that releases a little bit of dechlorinator at a time into the stream of water. If they haven't they should. This would seem to be the best method.

I personally use the bucket method as I have no python. That's the next item on my supply list though.


Yup, i've thought of that. A way you could do it is this-

there's a commercial for a bottle of flavoring you can attach to your water softener. It drops the flavoring out, and into the stream of water, creating flavored water. What you could do is fill that with aqua-safe, and adjust it to the right amount. Attach the python, put water in the tank, and your done. ( Don't forget to replace it with another bottle that has flavoring so somebody who wants a drink of water doesn't get sick from the chemicals :lol: )
BlackShark11k
 
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 6:24 pm
Location: Wisconsin

Postby Cich of it all » Tue Aug 28, 2007 1:16 pm

nick a wrote:
Image

Is that an old library card catalog? What a cool cabinet to have for parts drawers!
Buy a Monster Fish Rescue T-shirt!:http://monsterfishrescue.com/cart/
User avatar
Cich of it all
 
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 1:00 pm
Location: West Bend, Wisconsin

Postby kerob1 » Tue Aug 28, 2007 2:26 pm

I have well water so this does not apply.
kerob1
 
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 2:17 pm

Postby justjenn » Wed Sep 05, 2007 3:26 pm

with a python you can adjust the water temp as it comes out of the faucet. Much easier to deal with than buckets, especially when you have more than one or two tanks! :thumb:
55g-african mix, 30g non-cichlid community, 20g-convict pair, 10g-empty(for now)
justjenn
 
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 8:53 pm

PreviousNext

Return to General Aquaria Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests