Aquarium Setup • Tank mates for shellies?

New to the world of cichlids? For discussion on how to set up new tanks, including placement, filtration, substrates, water, etc. No stocking discussions here.

Moderators: fmueller, Mcdaphnia

Tank mates for shellies?

Postby fishybuisness » Fri Apr 03, 2020 6:26 pm

Hello,
I am new to the cichlid hobby and would like to set up a Tanganyikan aquarium! I would like a small colony of shell dwellers, and maybe some others! I heard that j.transcriptus and c.Leptosoma are good tank mates!
I am particularly interested in n.brevis, similis or n.multifasciatus. What would be a good mix I have a 33 gallon breeder 36x12x18!
I also have a synodontis petricoli that I could add, as well.

Thank you, for sharing your thoughts and experiences!
fishybuisness

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Tank mates for shellies?

Postby DJRansome » Fri Apr 03, 2020 8:22 pm

Don't add the synodontis with the shellies. I would do multifasciatus and Julidochromis...a small, peaceful species like Gombe.
125G Borleyi, Multipunctata
75G Demasoni, Msobo, Lucipinnis
75G Calvus, Similis, Petricola
DJRansome
Global Moderator

Postby fishybuisness » Fri Apr 03, 2020 9:13 pm

Thanks, what is a good number of multies? And can I keep any plants with them?
Thank you!
fishybuisness

Postby DJRansome » Fri Apr 03, 2020 10:43 pm

Six multies and they will multiply. Six Julidochromis and 2 will form a pair...try to kill the other 4. Rehome the other 4 before they are harmed.

Shellies dig so no plants in the substrate. You could try java fern or anubias attached to rocks if you want the effort of a planted tank.
DJRansome
Global Moderator

Postby fishguy1978 » Tue Apr 07, 2020 3:41 pm