Cichlid Fish Forum banner

90 gallon w/sump

3K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  chazeltine 
#1 ·
So I recently scored an ex reef tank which is a 90 gallon with a 45 gallon wet/dry sump. I have never used a sump before so I had a few questions. This tank will be an all male peacock tank, decided to go away from haps.

The sumps first compartment is the drip system, I plan on stuffing it with sponges, the next chamber is chalked full of bioballs, Should I use a different type of media or should I refill with fresh bioballs?

Now I can use the rest as a refugium correct? Maybe put some plants or lava rock in there as extra filtration insurance?

Has anyone ever put a sponge filter in a sump to add filtration?

Any other suggestions?

#3 ·
Both my tanks have a wet/dry sump with the water first coming to a drip pan then to bioballs in next chamber below that.

chazeltine said:
The sumps first compartment is the drip system, I plan on stuffing it with sponges,
I like to put layers of filter material there; coarse, then fine, then very fine. You want to keep your bio media clean.

the next chamber is chalked full of bioballs, Should I use a different type of media or should I refill with fresh bioballs?
I think bioballs work fine but no reason to ever replace them, just clean them well. I'd soak in bleach solution, then rinse well with water, then soak in a declor like Seachem Prime or Safe.

Now I can use the rest as a refugium correct? Maybe put some plants or lava rock in there as extra filtration insurance?
Sure you can try that and see how well it goes. I find that with all the water changes required with africans (= or > 50% weekly) most plants don't thrive. If your chamber is full of bio balls then that should be sufficient but more bio media won't hurt.

Has anyone ever put a sponge filter in a sump to add filtration?