Unidentified Cichlids • Please Help ID Rehomed African

Here's where you need to go to get help identifying your Cichlids.

Moderators: Chester B, StructureGuy

Please Help ID Rehomed African

Postby cram007 » Sat Jul 25, 2020 9:44 pm

I am relatively new in fish keeping but I got this fish from a friend to re-home since he was sent to deployment overseas and did not have much time. All I am certain is that this is a south African cichlid based on the looks. I have a 75 Gallon All male peacock tank and I am hoping one of you may be helpful in identifying the kind/type and sex of this fish. Can this be mixed with my peacocks? Thank you for the assistance - I really appreciate this forum (new account but have been reading for quite a while).
Attachments
IMG_5469 (1).jpg
IMG_5469 (1).jpg
IMG_5470.jpg
cram007

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Please Help ID Rehomed African

Postby noki » Sat Jul 25, 2020 11:04 pm

Nimbochromis livingstonii I presume, a Lake Malawi "Hap".
https://www.cichlid-forum.com/profiles/species.php?id=1158

Don't know if you mean "Peacocks" in just the broad term, or actual Aulonocara. Might be okay, but they can get kinda dominant, hopefully your tank is of a decent size. If male, they don't color up too bright thou some can be cool looking in dark blue camo.
noki

Postby ken31cay » Sat Jul 25, 2020 11:07 pm

It's a Nimbochromis livingstonii, male I think. These get fairly big, might do in a 75gal by itself but you mentioned there are tankmates. They're on the aggressive side. What is the tank's current stock list - species and sizes?
450gal Frontosa (blue Zaire Moba) & haps
180gal school of Red Rainbowfish
ken31cay

Postby cram007 » Sun Jul 26, 2020 7:43 am

Thank you. Why do you think it is a Male?