Lake Victoria Basin, West African, Madagascar & Asian Species • Paralabidochromis chromogynos piebald

Discussion regarding only Lake Victoria Basin, West African, Madagascar & Asian Species.

Moderators: samaki, StructureGuy

Paralabidochromis chromogynos piebald

Postby malawimix » Mon Aug 27, 2012 6:35 pm

Are there any experienced breeders of these fish here? I'm just getting started and have some fry approaching 1-1.5inches. About 1/3 of them don't seem to have the piebald pattern. I came across an old thread on another forum that talked about the piebald being the more common variant of the Para. chromogynos and a rarer non-piebald variant where the fish have vertical and horizontal markings and the males turn bluish. My breeders are all piebald so I'm wondering where these non-piebalds are coming from. Maybe it's just a quality issue where you only breed out of the good ones and need to dispose of the rest? I guess I'll have to grow out these fry to see what they turn out like but I just wondered if anyone here could shed some light on the matter.
malawimix

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Paralabidochromis chromogynos piebald

Postby dreday » Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:41 pm

They should all turn out piebald. I have not been breeding to many of them but from what I know it is a pure species for piebald. They may just becoming into the colors. I have other species with blotched or piebald and sometimes it takes a while for them to color up. Sometimes you can see the markings coming out at .5".

There probably can be some variations in pattern but I would wait for them to turn into piebalds. It may be a space issue in the tank as well, what size tank are they in? In my experience they are brutal on each other. That is the main reason why I have not breed more, my breeders always kill each other off. They fry start to get nasty around 2" if there is not enough space. They should all turn out good. I would not worry to much.