Lake Victoria Basin, West African, Madagascar & Asian Species • Interested in setting up a new Victorian tank

Discussion regarding only Lake Victoria Basin, West African, Madagascar & Asian Species.

Moderators: samaki, StructureGuy

Interested in setting up a new Victorian tank

Postby cichlid-gal » Tue Jul 31, 2012 5:38 pm

Hello all:

I'm new to this section of the forum so going to give you a small intro. I currently have three malawi mbuna tanks and just purchased two used tanks (a 90G and a 125G tank) that my husband and I will be projecting and then setting up. The 125G will probably be the 1st tank ready of the two of them. After some consideration I have decided that I would like to do a Victorian tank. My husband has always been interested in these guys and after some time looking over the various species within the Lake...I am totally smitten.

Some of the reading I've already done seems to indicate that some of these fish would do better in a species tank rather than a Victorian community tank so I would like some input on this topic. I would assume that a 125G is a good size for a community tank but if I was doing a species tank possibly a 55G or 75G might be better. I could always move mbuna up to the 125G if necessary but do prefer the idea of the community tank.

I am interested in the following species:
Paralabidochromis chromogynos
Paralabidochromis sauvagei
Neochromis rufocaudalis (Saa Nane) probably my favorite
Haplochromis sp. "ruby"
Astatotilapia latifasciata

All of these are on the C.A.R.E.S listing in various states of endangerment which is also a goal of mine on this tank setup (I saw someone make this recommendation to a forum friend and I really like the idea of doing a C.A.R.E.S tank)