Cichlid Fish Forum banner

Juwel Rio 240 Tanganyikan Community

5K views 33 replies 6 participants last post by  lee1983 
#1 ·
Hi All,

Sorry for yet another stocking question but hopefully this is a quick answer!

I am new to Tanganyikan cichlids and want to make sure I get my stocking right from the off. I have a Juwel Rio 240 Litre (63 US Gallon) tank 48"x20"x15" starting from scratch. Firstly is my 1mm fine gravel substrate ok for the stocking I will suggest as I am not sure where fine sand becomes the requirement. Secondly, stocking numbers seem to be hard research so any assistance would be greatly appreciated;

Stocking
6 x Julidochromis (thinking Marlieri)
12 x Cyptichromis Leptosoma
10 x Neolamprologus (potentially Ocellatus)

I think this would be it but if I have space for Synos or anything else please do let me know. Thanks in advance!

#2 ·
Go with smaller Julidochromis. J. transcriptus, ornatus, sp. Kombe... the marlieri will be too aggressive in this tank, particularly with the ocellatus. You just want a pair, so once you have a pair, remove the rest.

As far as the ocellatus are concerned, you really only need a trio or quad. If you can ID the sex at purchase, just get a male and two to three females.

Make sure that the leptosoma aren't jumbo.

#3 ·
Fogelhund said:
Go with smaller Julidochromis. J. transcriptus, ornatus, sp. Kombe... the marlieri will be too aggressive in this tank, particularly with the ocellatus. You just want a pair, so once you have a pair, remove the rest.

As far as the ocellatus are concerned, you really only need a trio or quad. If you can ID the sex at purchase, just get a male and two to three females.

Make sure that the leptosoma aren't jumbo.
Thanks for the advice Fogel, if you were to try and keep the same numbers is that possible with any other species, basically I want Leptosoma (non jumbo) for the mid to top, a rock side and a shell dwelling side. As populated as possible for the size tank.