Lake Tanganyika Species • Idealistic community tank to replicate a mood from the lake

Discussion regarding only Lake Tanganyika species.

Moderators: Mcdaphnia, nodima

Idealistic community tank to replicate a mood from the lake

Postby zencakd » Tue Sep 22, 2020 1:58 am

I am resetting 300x75x75 tank and looking for stocking ideas for community tank. I was breeding Tropheus and P. trewavasae, so I have some experience with tanganyika fish but I still feel as an amateur. My goal is NOT to create a 100% biotop (in terms of no original plants, same fish from one locality etc.) but to replicate sort of idealistic/natural atmosphere you see while watching underwater movies from Tanganyika. For example, if you have a large group of tropheus or petrochromis to minimise the agresivity, it is hardly a natural view. You do not see 100 tropheini at 3m2 in the lake. If you combine anything with large group of cyprichromis, they will always disturb other fish and again, it is not a natural view unless you keep only cyps (my long term experience, they disturb even Tropheus, so I do not understand why people always recommend them). I know I can leave the whole tank to big group of xenotilapia flavipinnis for example but getting 100 xenotilapia will cost fortune and I feel I like to have more species. I want to have some sort of fish diversity but still see the mouthbrooders to release and catch their babies, a few predators looking for something to eat, some scrapers to clean the algea from the rocks etc...not just one big chaos in front of glass
zencakd

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Re: Idealistic community tank to replicate a mood from the l

Postby sir_keith » Wed Sep 23, 2020 1:19 pm