Lake Tanganyika Species • When to strip gobies?

Discussion regarding only Lake Tanganyika species.

Moderators: Mcdaphnia, nodima

When to strip gobies?

Postby rogersb » Fri May 09, 2008 1:21 pm

I have been keeping tangs for a couple years now but never had any success with breeding because they have all been too young until recently. My spathodus began displaying last week and on sunday, the fourth, my female was holding. I want to strip her and was thinking about waiting until the 18th. This should be about the time she passes the fry to the male. Will it hurt the fry if i strip them that early? Should I wait longer? I dont' want to let them spit in the tank because if my tropheus don't get the fry then my leleupi surely will. What do you guys think?
rogersb

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Postby Darkside » Fri May 09, 2008 2:40 pm

You can strip them then, or you can wait and strip the male. Trust me my gobies manage to pass their eggs off in an aquarium full of comps and synodontis mulites, so the transition should be fine. I used to strip me female gobies about the 10-12 day mark and toss the fry in a tumbler I haven't lost one yet. Though now I prefer to strip the male at a later period, since my tumblers are full of other goodies. :fish:
Darkside

Postby Dave » Fri May 09, 2008 4:30 pm

Let the female pass the fry to the male. After the male has had them for 10 days you can strip with no issues. IME I would wait for the male to start chasing the female in an attempt to give the fry back again. At this point I would strip and the fry were always fully developed.
Come join us at the Madison Area Aquatic Hobbyists (MAAH) meeting. http://madisonaquatichobby.com/
Current project: spawning Paretroplus kieneri
Dave

Postby triscuit » Fri May 09, 2008 5:53 pm