General African Cichlid Discussion • Frontosa Compatibility

For general questions and issues. Post here if you are unsure of their origin or if you have questions about mixing.

Moderator: DJRansome

Frontosa Compatibility

Postby bartho14 » Fri Mar 12, 2010 4:12 pm

Hello all, I hate to sound like a complete newbie, cause I've been in the hobby now for about a year and a half. But here goes, I was tinkering with the idea of adding a yonger (3"-5") Frontosa to my (mostly male) Hap and Mbuna setup. Just wondering if the Frontosa will be a problem or not down the road. My current setup is a 6ft, 140 gallon tank, running an Fx5 filter and ample # of powerheads. I'll list the inhabitants below, can anyone tell me which may be a problem w a Frontosa. At the moment this group seems to get along quite nicely suprisingly. Thanks.

2-Hap Moori (blue dolpins) (5"-6")
2-Hap Ahli males (6.5")
1-Red Emp male (7")
1-Protomelas Tanzania male (5")
1-Protomelas Taiwan Reef male (6")
1-Protomelas Mara Rocks male (4.5")
1-Copadichromis ? male (6")
5-Copadichromis Borelyi 2M, 3M (3"-3.5")
1-Lithobate male (5.5")
6-Yellow Labs (3.5"-4.5")
2-Ps. Blue Acei (5")
2-Ps. Msobo Deep (4")
bartho14

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Postby Darkside » Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:28 pm

A male front will eventually eat your small mbuna. I wouldn't trust him with anything 5" and under. A large front can eat some pretty large fish, if you look through some older posts on the site I believe you'll find a front with a zebra hanging out of his mouth. :lol:
Darkside

Postby bartho14 » Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:05 am

If I decided to go with a female Frontosa, as to minimize the size and possible aggression of the fish would that work? or should i just forget the whole idea
bartho14

Postby Number6 » Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:30 am

A Frontosa is a gentle giant and would be in danger from more aggressive mbuna and haps.