Lake Tanganyika Species • Australian blue-eyes with shell dwellers??

Discussion regarding only Lake Tanganyika species.

Moderator: triscuit

Australian blue-eyes with shell dwellers??

Postby CutieSusieQ » Mon Jan 11, 2010 6:21 pm

Someone suggested I could add a couple of Australian blue-eyes to my 29 gallon multifasciatus tank. My tank has 6 multis. I have been lookin online at Australian blue-eyes, but now I am confused as to WHICH ONES I should add to my shell dweller tank. I need to know what name I should be looking for when ordering them online!! There seem to be many different ones. Are they the best choice?

Please forgive me if this is a stupid question, but what is a dither fish? I'm still learning all the fish lingo!
55g- 7 angelfish, several marbled hatchet fish, 1 albino bristlenose pleco.
CutieSusieQ

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter

Postby Matt1986 » Mon Jan 11, 2010 7:17 pm

Traditionally, a dither fish is a fish whose main function in the tank is to draw aggression from your cichlids, thus diverting some of the aggression taking place among the cichlids. The idea is generally to use hardy, fast-moving and often shoaling species that can easily withstand the aggression thrown at them.

For example, owners of South American cichlid tanks will quite often house species like silver dollars to distract large and aggressive cichlids who would otherwise channel their aggression into beating each other up.

As for your other question, I'm not familiar with the species so I'll wait for someone else to chime in!
Last edited by Matt1986 on Mon Jan 11, 2010 7:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
20G - L. stappersi
20G - F1 L. similis
180G - F1 C. gibberosa 'Moba', N. leleupi, L. auritus, J. transcriptus
Matt1986

Postby CutieSusieQ » Mon Jan 11, 2010 7:37 pm

Ok thanks for the info...